Qui sommes nous A strong organization

It is composed of ordinary and associate members. Ordinary members are eligible  to vote. Each country represented has four votes. It takes place once a year at different locations at one of the member countries. The General Assembly is the supreme body of the EAHM. It approves the accounts and the budget. It elects the members of the Executive Committee and the Board as well as the Presidents and Vice-Presidents. It speaks also out on the planned activities and on issues of hospitals and their management.

Le président

The President, being the legal representative of the EAHM, is elected by an Ordinary General Assembly for a period of 4 years.

The current President of the European Association of Hospital Managers (EAHM) elected for the next four years (2014-2018) is Mr Gerry O’Dwyer from Ireland. He was elected on September 12th, 2014 at the 44th Ordinary General Assembly held in Berlin within the framework of the 25th EAHM Congress. It is the first time that an Irish health care manager has held this position. Previously, he was the Vice-President of the EAHM and is also a past President of the Health Management Institute of Ireland (HMI).

Gerry O’Dwyer is employed as the Chief Executive Officer of the South / South West Hospital Group (SSWHG) and is based in Cork, Ireland. The SSWHG includes: Bantry General Hospital, Cork University Hospital, Kerry General Hospital; Kilcreene Regional Orthopaedic Hospital, Mallow General Hospital, Mercy University Hospital, South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital, South Tipperary General Hospital and University Hospital Waterford. University College Cork is its primary academic partner.

A long term health service manager, he has held many senior roles in Ireland including Regional Director for Performance and Integration, HSE South; Regional Director of Operations in Dublin Mid Leinster; and Hospital Network Manager for the acute hospitals in HSE South.

He has also been employed as the Chief Executive of Crumlin Children’s Hospital, Dublin (the largest paediatric hospital in Ireland), and the Deputy Manager at Cork University Hospital Group.

At the same meeting, Mr Marc Hastert, CEO of the Luxemburg Hospital Association was elected as Vice-President of the EAHM.

Le secrétaire général

The Secretary General is appointed by the Executive Committee for a term of 5 years. He coordinates the daily operation of the EAHM and renders account to the Board.

The Board

The Board consists of the President, the Vice President, three other members and the Secretary General.

The Board is elected every 4 years by the Executive Committee.

Members for the term 2014-2018

The executive committee

The Executive Committee works by order of the General Assembly and has to give account to it. The members of the Executive Committee are appointed for a term of four years by the General Assembly. The Executive Committee meets at least twice a year.

The Executive Committee consists of the Executive members and the Executive Board. Member countries elect their representative member as Executive member during the General Assembly every four years.

These in turn elect the Board, which consists of the President, the Vice-President, the Secretary General and 3 other officials.

The Executive Committee meets at least twice a year.

Members of the Executive Committee for the term 2014-2018